India Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.3
 Rooms  3.5
 Cleanliness  3.2
 Location  3.9
 Security & Safety  3.5
 Service & Staff  3.0
 Food / Dining  2.6
 Total  3.4

"Main Olde Bellevue Hotel"

User Rating:  1.9
Reviewer:   Andy H. of Northwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   April 29, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2012     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Beware ! there are 4 Bellevue Hotels in the space of about 100yards in Darjeeling. The Main Olde Bellevue hotel provides a very bare room with no additional services and has no restaurant facilities. So all in all, I would not call it a Value for Money hotel. There are far better hotels to be had for a small amount more.
Otherwise, Darjeeling is a wonderful place to spend a week or more. I wouldn't recommend it for a weekend - too much time lost to travelling

"Not so great"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Rose F. of Los Altos, United States
Reviewed:   April 1, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2012     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I liked the location and the history of the Olde Maine Bellevue Hotel, and not much else. The room I was in was extremely cold and somewhat damp. The bed was very old and creaky. Luckily they added a foam cushion and very warm comforters. I was in a room with 2 skylights which would have been nice had the roof above both not been rusting away. The wind caused the rusted iron to bang all night long. When I asked for another room they said they were full and didn't care at all about the inconvenience I had to endure. Also, different from every other hotel I stayed in in India, they wanted me to provide them with a passport photo. Every other hotel took a photocopy of my passport as a photo record. The woman at the front desk wanted me to have one made which I thought was an unnecessary expense and inconvenience.

"Asked me to book, then changed the deal"

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Mahtab H. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   December 12, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
When i called the MOB for a booking, a woman said they were offering off-season rates - and asked me to book online. She said since the website was charging me the high season rates i should use my credit card to pay online for a slightly cheaper room for one night - just as a token payment, and she was putting in a note re my full booking. She was polite and professional and there was no reason for me to doubt that this was fine.

When the payment had gone through i emailed them to confirm my booking - and another man replied, saying i was booked for just one night and only for the room i had paid for - and this was non-negotiable - there was no note re my full booking. The language of the email made me feel like i was trying to somehow swindle them.

Not appreciated.

As for the review of the hotel - since i didn't stay there i can't really rate it.

"Hopeless"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Rajesh V. of Ghaziabad UP (INDIA), India
Reviewed:   June 15, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
People were good, but the accomodation was hopeless. I did not stayed even for one day and looked out a better accomodation, as my family also rejected the room # 14 shown to us. The sanitary pipe was visible in the bathroom.

Please refund my booking amount.
Regards

Rajesh

"OK"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   S A. of Delhi, India
Reviewed:   January 12, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was OK except the rude behavior of young male staff when requested for providing blanket in the room at night; although her wife on the counter was nice. Room was spacious, but bathroom taps need to be worked out.

"Maine Olde Bellevue"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Alex V. of Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed:   April 21, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Rooms are big, however, there is no central heating, and air passes through the windows, even when closed. I believe it can be pretty cold in cold nights. The room does not have any heating.
One main question: is there a cleaning lady in this hotel??? The sheets seemed to be clean, but it's the only cleanness I found in this hotel... Dust seems to have been done ages ago...

"feedback"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   JUGNU G. of KOLKATA, India
Reviewed:   October 1, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
room is good. there is no travel desk & restaurant. service is poor


1 - 7 of 7 reviews




IndiaInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us