India Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.3
 Rooms  3.5
 Cleanliness  3.2
 Location  3.9
 Security & Safety  3.5
 Service & Staff  3.0
 Food / Dining  2.6
 Total  3.4

"Excellent hotel"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Parijat M. of Bhubaneswar, India
Reviewed:   July 10, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2013     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very nice colonial period decor and rooms with one of the best views . Only down is service quality not matching with quality of ambiance .

"harrassment for guests"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Sanmitra M. of kolkata, India
Reviewed:   November 23, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2012     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
i am very much dissatisfied with the checkin procedure of the hotel even after advance booking online. The manager or caretaker in the hotel had no idea which kind of room was booked by me online, he first showed us rooms in ground floor and said we will be given two rooms in the ground floor, but we had booked in the heritage hotel. We had asked them prior to the travel whether they need a print out of the online booking,they said not needed, but when we went and showed them the soft copy they were utterly harsh and asked us to get a print out only when they will give us rooms. Such harrassment was faced just on reaching the hotel that we have decided not to choose belle vue hotel for future trips again. After we brought the print out we were given rooms in the first floor and there was no sense of apology from the hotel manager.

"Main Olde Bellevue Hotel"

User Rating:  1.9
Reviewer:   Andy H. of Northwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   April 29, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2012     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Beware ! there are 4 Bellevue Hotels in the space of about 100yards in Darjeeling. The Main Olde Bellevue hotel provides a very bare room with no additional services and has no restaurant facilities. So all in all, I would not call it a Value for Money hotel. There are far better hotels to be had for a small amount more.
Otherwise, Darjeeling is a wonderful place to spend a week or more. I wouldn't recommend it for a weekend - too much time lost to travelling

"Not so great"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Rose F. of Los Altos, United States
Reviewed:   April 1, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2012     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I liked the location and the history of the Olde Maine Bellevue Hotel, and not much else. The room I was in was extremely cold and somewhat damp. The bed was very old and creaky. Luckily they added a foam cushion and very warm comforters. I was in a room with 2 skylights which would have been nice had the roof above both not been rusting away. The wind caused the rusted iron to bang all night long. When I asked for another room they said they were full and didn't care at all about the inconvenience I had to endure. Also, different from every other hotel I stayed in in India, they wanted me to provide them with a passport photo. Every other hotel took a photocopy of my passport as a photo record. The woman at the front desk wanted me to have one made which I thought was an unnecessary expense and inconvenience.

"friendly hotel"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Petr B. of Brno, Czech Republic
Reviewed:   January 12, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2011     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very nice hotel with friendly staff

"Not so good"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Lenka K. of Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed:   December 31, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Cold in rooms, we had a mouse inside, heater costs 300 Rupies per night is very weak. Very difficullt to speak with staff and owner in English, but they tried to be nice.

"Asked me to book, then changed the deal"

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Mahtab H. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   December 12, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
When i called the MOB for a booking, a woman said they were offering off-season rates - and asked me to book online. She said since the website was charging me the high season rates i should use my credit card to pay online for a slightly cheaper room for one night - just as a token payment, and she was putting in a note re my full booking. She was polite and professional and there was no reason for me to doubt that this was fine.

When the payment had gone through i emailed them to confirm my booking - and another man replied, saying i was booked for just one night and only for the room i had paid for - and this was non-negotiable - there was no note re my full booking. The language of the email made me feel like i was trying to somehow swindle them.

Not appreciated.

As for the review of the hotel - since i didn't stay there i can't really rate it.

"REVIEW"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   DILEEP D. of DELLHI, India
Reviewed:   July 8, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hotel stay was very good but no food facility is a big minus point. Please take necessary action at ur end to arrange the same if possible. That will make this hotel a complete stay.

"stay in darjeeling"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Deepak P. of Pune Maharashtra, India
Reviewed:   June 19, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
it was one of the best experiences and a most comfortable and economical deal

"Hopeless"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Rajesh V. of Ghaziabad UP (INDIA), India
Reviewed:   June 15, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
People were good, but the accomodation was hopeless. I did not stayed even for one day and looked out a better accomodation, as my family also rejected the room # 14 shown to us. The sanitary pipe was visible in the bathroom.

Please refund my booking amount.
Regards

Rajesh


1 - 10 of 28 reviews  Next 10 results




IndiaInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us